Wave Me Goodbye

Jacky’s first ever Second World War story! The dreamy, touching tale of an evacuee leaving home and finding a new place to belong. It’s 1939. The war has just started, and ten-year-old Shirley is being sent away on a train with her schoolmates. She doesn’t know where she’s going, or what’ll happen to her when she gets there. All she’s been told is that she’s going on ‘a little holiday’. Soon Shirley finds herself billeted in the country, with two boys – Kevin and Archie – from the East End of London. But living in the strange, half-empty Red House, under the eye of the mysterious and reclusive Mrs Waverley, is an experience that will change Shirley forever…

  • A stunning World War Two story from a beloved author
  • Brings the war alive in a tale of friendship and courage
  • For fans of Hetty Feather and Goodnight Mister Tom
  • Jacqueline Wilson has sold over 35 million books

Recent reviews

See all reviews

Who's reading this?

We want to read this book

All people who want to read this

Authors

  • Jacqueline wilson t 76

    Jacqueline Wilson

    Former Children’s Laureate Jacqueline Wilson is one of the UK’s best-known living children’s authors.

    Awards

    Jacqueline has won loads of awards, including the prestigious Children’s Laureate 2005-2007, two British Book Awards Children’s Books of the Year for Girls in Tears and The Illustrated Mum, and the Guardian prize for The Illustrated Mum. In a poll to find the Nation’s Favourite Children’s Book Double Act was voted 10th and was the only contemporary title in the top ten.

  • Nick sharratt t 64

    Nick Sharratt

    Nick Sharratt is one of the country’s favourite illustrators, with over 100 books to his name.

    Awards

    Nick has won numerous awards for his picture books, including the Sheffield Children’s Book Award for A Cheese and Tomato Spider and the Nottingham Children’s Book Award for Elephant Wellyphant.

Rate this book

  1. loved it
  2. liked it
  3. okay
  4. not for me
  5. rubbish
Write about this book