Call Me Alastair

How can your dreams fly free when you’re a bird trapped in a cage? A quirky, unique, sad/funny story. Born in the back of a pet shop, Alastair the grey parrot dreams of escape. But being sold isn’t what he meant! One day, he’s bought by an elderly widow – and even worse, his sister Aggie is adopted by a boy who lives miles away. Will Alastair ever find Aggie again? Will they ever fly free? Right now, Alastair’s anxiously plucking his feathers out, trying to think of a plan. But maybe all isn’t lost yet. A fierce parrot. A spirited old lady. A big-hearted boy. Together, can they all learn to live fully-fledged lives?

  • A soaring, heartfelt debut novel of love and breaking free
  • A tale of escaping from the cages we build for ourselves
  • This tear-jerker has ‘modern classic’ written all over it
  • Perfect for fans of Charlotte’s Web and The Last Wild

Recent reviews

See all reviews

Who's reading this?

We want to read this book

All people who want to read this

Authors

Rate this book

  1. loved it
  2. liked it
  3. okay
  4. not for me
  5. rubbish
Write about this book