What Momma Left Me

A powerful story about love and family. Serenity’s past is full of cruel burdens. Yet who is she, and what will she become? Serenity knows she’s good at keeping secrets. After all, she’s got a whole lifetime’s worth of them. Her mother is dead. Her daddy is gone, and she and her brother are moving in with their grandparents. At first, things seem like they could turn out good. There’s a new friend, a new church and a new school. But when her brother seems to be going down the wrong path, old fears set in. Will he end up like their dad? Will she end up like their mum? Only the power of love can keep Serenity sure of who she is, and who she’ll choose to become…

  • An exquisite coming-of-age story about finding light in dark places
  • Perfect for fans of Angie Thomas and The Star Outside My Window
  • Renee Watson is a Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Award winner
  • Her books include the New York Times bestseller Piecing Me Together

“Warm, rich and satisfying.” Kirkus Reviews

“Serenity Evans is a strong African-American character who will resonate with girls who are facing transitions of their own, large or small.” School Library Journal

Recent reviews

See all reviews

Who's reading this?

We want to read this book

All people who want to read this

Authors

Rate this book

  1. loved it
  2. liked it
  3. okay
  4. not for me
  5. rubbish
Write about this book